brfour

Title: Four – A Divergent Collection
(Divergent #0.1-0.4)
Author: Veronica Roth
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Fantasy
First published: July 8th 2014
Finished reading: July 8th 2015
Pages: 208
Rating 3,5

“I want some kind of reminder that while wounds heal, they don’t disappear forever- I carry them everywhere, always, and that is the way of things, the way of scars.”

myrambles1review

To be honest, I wasn’t going to read this short story collection any time soon. But I’ve made a promise to myself that for every new series I want to start I need to read a book belonging to a series I’ve already started first… And then my eyes fell on my copy of Four. I’ve always liked his character and it’s nice to learn more about his past and see things from his perspective. I think I actually liked these novellas better than both sequels! Veronica Roth‘s prose is easy to read and the fast pace makes you speed through the four separate stories in record time. Warning: read at least Divergent before reading the novellas because there are some spoilers. I don’t think this collection is a must-read, but it’s still an entertaining read for those who have enjoyed the series (or at least the first book like I did) and want to revisit this dystopian world.

shortsummary1review

WARNING: do not read this summary if you haven’t read at least Divergent! It will most likely contain spoilers, even though I’ve made sure to keep it short.

Tobias didn’t have an easy childhood in the Abnegation faction. When he is sixteen he decides to take over control of his life and transfer to the Dauntless faction. Starting over isn’t easy, but he finds a way to adapt and with him having only four fears he wins himself a new name: Four. He still struggles to fit it, but is determined to claim his place as a Dauntless… And it seems to work. But he also discovers secrets he isn’t supposed to know and doesn’t know what to do with the information. His decisions will affect both his future and those of his friends and other factions alike…

finalthoughtsreview

Four is basically a collection of four short stories where we first learn more about Four’s past, then read about his initiation training and later on about his two years as a Dauntless before meeting Tris. The last novella is about his time with Tris during her initiation, but told from his point-of-view. There aren’t any shocking new facts, but it is quite interesting anyway. All in all an entertaining read for those who’ve read at least Divergent and like Four as a character.