Title: Oddball
(Sarah’s Scribbles #4)

Author: Sarah Andersen
Genre: Graphic Novel, Non Fiction, Humor
First published: October 12th 2021
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Finished reading: August 13th 2021
Pages: 112

“TIME TRAVELING

Whoa!
This sure is grim!
Glad I don’t live thousands of years in the future.
This is 2025.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Andrews McMeel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I first stumbled across Sarah Andersen‘s work back in 2017, and I’ve been a fan ever since. Somehow I never came around to reading the first book of the series yet, but I really enjoyed my time with book two and three. It’s been a while since book three was published, making me even more excited when I saw a new bundle was going to be published soon. I know that I don’t really read a lot of graphic novels, but there is just something about the style of the illustrations and the topics the author talks about that really speaks to me. And Oddball definitely didn’t turned out to be an ‘oddball’ as I once more really enjoyed my time with this newest installment.

Once again you will see daily life mixed with anxiety topics as well as lots of cat/reading related illustrations. Most of the situations are extremely easy to relate to, or at least they are for me personally, and there is a healthy dose of humor included too. Especially the cat related ones made me laugh, as some of them are EXACTLY what my cats do as well. The introvert/anxiety ones were spot on as well, and we even get some COVID and Gen Z related ones along the way too. What makes Oddball feel more authentic is the fact that the situations are (partly) autobiographical, giving us both an insight in the author’s life as well as creating easily relatable stories for fellow oddballs, introverts and cat/book lovers alike.

Oddball without doubt turned out to be another fun read and it’s perfect for when you want to take a little break from the world, get yourself a cuppa and enjoy absorbing those pages. The illustrations are easy on the eye and the real life situations feel authentic. I’ve seen the tone being compared to Furiously Happy, and I still stand behind that comparison!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.