Time for another round of Yvo’s Shorties! This time around a YA thriller and a memoir that both turned out to be a success for me.


Title: A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder
(A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder #1)
Author: Holly Jackson

Genre: YA, Mystery, Thriller
First published: May 2nd 2019
Publisher: Electric Monkey
Finished reading: October 27th 2021
Pages: 433

“From the ashes of her anger a new creature was born, creating itself from the cinders and dust. A feeling that fell between terror and doubt, between chaos and logic.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

So many people seem to love this YA thriller series, so I thought it was about time I finally tried it myself… And I can definitely understand the love for these books now! I confess that I don’t read much YA anymore, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy them every once in a while and there is no doubt that A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder is excellent. I really liked the writing style and tone, and the many snippets of Pip’s investigation definitely added a little something extra to the mix. The idea behind the plot is rock solid and the incorporation of many twists and turns spot on; there are a lot of different suspects in play and lots of secrets and lies to unravel, so you will definitely be kept busy along the way. One of the reasons this story works so well also has to do with the main characters; Pip is so easy to warm up to and I loved her personality and humor. The fact that she teamed up with Sal’s brother Ravi only added to the charm and makes you think about how quick people are to judge a whole family due to what one member has allegedly done. I really liked how everything was wrapped up in the end as well, and it’s without doubt a series I will be continuing soon.


Title: Broken
Author: Jenny Lawson

Genre: Non Fiction, Memoir
First published: April 6th 2021
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Finished reading: October 28th 2021
Pages: 288

“I live with two extroverts, which is helpful in that they keep me from becoming a complete hermit but also terrible because they have no concept of the utter emotional and physical exhaustion that comes from living in a world that is too peoply.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I’ve been terrible at reading non fiction this year, and I’m hoping to at least squeeze in one or two more before the end of the year… I decided to turn to Jenny Lawson first as I’ve enjoyed her work in the past, and I really like her humor and the way she openly talks about mental health issues and chronic illness. Broken is her newest book, and it’s without doubt just as good as Furiously Happy (I still LOVE that cover!). This memoir is basically a collection of essays where we get to have a glimpse inside her head and all the weird and wonderful thoughts that spend time there. Hilariously funny parts are mixed with more serious topics; especially when she talks about the many struggles dealing with mental health and chronicle illness as well as being taken seriously by for example her health insurance. I’m an introvert with mild anxiety myself and I also have Hashimoto’s disease, so I could definitely relate with some of the points she made here. Just because you can’t see it, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist! I really liked the balance of the essays as they switched between the lighter moments and the serious parts, and there were definitely parts where I had to laugh out loud. Oh yes, Broken might not be the best book to read in public if you want to avoid people looking at you funny while you cackle like a manic… You’ve been warned. 😉


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.