Title: Sea Storm
(Underwater Investigation Unit #3)

Author: Andrew Mayne
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Detective
First published: March 29th 2022
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: November 7th 2021
Pages: 302

“Privately, he’s made Hughes and me aware of his actual success theory: dumb luck and two hardheaded investigators taking too many chances.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’m always in for a solid and thrilling detective thriller, and after highly enjoying the first two books of the Underwater Investigation Unit series there was just no way I was going to pass up on the opportunity to read the third book. I was intrigued by this series as soon as I learned about the Florida police diver angle, and the first two books both delivered an intense and action-packed ride. I had high hopes for a successful third round, and Sea Storm most definitely hit the mark once again. It was exactly the exhilarating dose of action and detective thriller I didn’t even know I needed until I started reading it!

I think that one of the things that makes this series stand out is the fact that the stories feel more like a mix of action and detective thriller rather than your average police investigation. Not only is one of the main characters Sloan McPherson a police diver and part of a very special unit, but she also has a very colorful family background and a very strong personality. Together with Scott Hughes and George Solar, they are not only able to figure out things whole agencies fail to do so, but also add a whole lot of brilliant banter and (sarcastic) humor along the way… The fact that Sloan isn’t afraid to follow her instinct and the whole team doesn’t mind stepping on some very important toes or facing danger only adds to that appeal.

The plot itself has a slightly different feel this time around, and it definitely has that conspiracy vibe going on, so I guess your reaction to this story might depend on how you react to this kind of element in a thriller. Personally, I was all for it, as there is just something about the writing style. plot and characters that had me hooked from page one. I literally read Sea Storm in one sitting! This sequel and the series in general will give you hours of action-packed and exhilarating reading pleasure, with lots of plot twists, danger and banter along the way… Trust me, they almost read like a Hollywood action movie, and I mean that in the best possible way! I’m already looking forward to the next book even though Sea Storm won’t even be published until next year. If you like your thrillers lightning fast and action-packed, this is definitely a series to put on your radar.


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.