Time for another round of Yvonne’s Shorties! This time a graphic novel I really enjoyed and a contemporary that was a bit of a slowburner for me.


Title: Heartstopper: Volume 1
(Heartstopper #1)
Author: Alice Oseman

Genre: YA, Romance, Graphic Novel
First published: October 2018
Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books
Finished reading: September 10th 2022
Pages: 288

“You can’t tell whether people are gay by what they look like. And gay or straight aren’t the only two options.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I’ve been curious about the Heartstopper books for a while now. I don’t really read all that many graphic novels, but I needed one for the Beat The Backlist Bingo challenge and I decided it was the perfect excuse to finally try the first volume… Especially since I’ve enjoyed Alice Oseman‘s writing in regular novels in the past. And I definitely understand why so many people love this series! This is such an cute and fluffy read and I had a brilliant time getting to know Charlie and Nick. I really liked the style of the illustrations and how the story was portrayed in general. There is some high school drama involved and light bullying, but the main focus is on the developing bond between Charlie and Nick. They are both SO adorable and it’s very easy to connect to them. I was a bit surprised this first volume ended in such an abrupt way though; I will definitely need to find time to pick up volume 2 ASAP to find out what will happen next.


Title: The No-Show
Author: Beth O’Leary

Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: April 12th 2022
Publisher: Quercus
Finished reading: September 13th 2022
Pages: 341

“Sometimes we can’t tell a truth until we’re ready.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I’ve enjoyed Beth O’Leary‘s work in the past, although her previous book was a bit of a miss for me… And I honestly wasn’t too sure what to make of The No-Show either with the blatantly cheating angle being presented in the blurb. Still, I was too curious to stay away for long, and I ended up giving in and reading this title anyway. I’m glad for those warnings to stick with this story even though it doesn’t immediately speak to you, because I don’t think I would have gotten to the good part otherwise. Oh yes, it took me a LONG time to warm up to this story, and I truly despised Joseph/Carter for a long time. I always hate a love triangle and/or cheating element in my stories, and there is a heavy focus on both for a long time. Strangely enough, The No-Show hardly feels like a romance read at all though; instead, it focuses on the three women (and Joseph as well), their struggles and the people close to them. It was all rather slow-paced and I was wondering if it would be worth it to keep reading, but then the plot twists came, the truth was starting to be revealed and I NEVER saw any of it coming. I’m not going into details because this is one of those books where it’s best to go in blind, but what I can say is that the plot development is so brilliantly clever! Trust me, even though you are not feeling the story initially (like myself), it is more than worth it to hang in there and discover what is really going on.


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.