Title: A Killer’s Game
(Daniela Vega #1)

Author: Isabella Maldonado 
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: June 1st 2023
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: May 19th 2023
Pages: 365

“In that moment, she knew she’d made a deal with the devil.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

I knew I simply HAD to read A Killer’s Game as soon as I first heard about it. I still can’t believe I hadn’t come across Isabella Maldonado’s writing before, but it was hook, line and sinker long before I finished reading the blurb. I love a good high speed, high-octane thriller, and add a conspiracy and lethal puzzles to the mix and it sounded like the perfect exhilarating thriller cocktail. And WHAT a ride it turned out to be!

I admit that this story isn’t for everyone, and you have to be able to suspend your belief to properly enjoy it. Sometimes it’s just the best feeling to sit back and simply enjoy the ride, and this is EXACTLY what A Killer’s Game offers. The plot itself might seem quite typical for a high-octane conspiracy slash action thriller, but things are definitely taken to the next level along the way. This isn’t just a FBI agent going undercover to uncover a conspiracy, because the main character has an extensive army background including codebreaking and cryptology. Something that will become very useful once she is trapped in a very deadly situation…

The main character Daniela Vega is definitely one of the reasons this story worked so well for me. I warmed up to her immediately, and she makes for one fierce character to follow. I love her ability to assess and overcome high risk situations, using her training and brains to solve puzzles and neutralize threats. There isn’t much time for character development with such a high-octane thriller, but what was given was more than enough for me to root for her from the beginning. Toro also made for a very interesting character, and I liked what he added to the plot.

A Killer’s Game uses a multiple POV structure, but mainly switches between Daniela Vega and her boss Steve Wu. While I do have to say that Dani’s POV was a tad stronger with everything that was happening in the labyrinth, I did like what Wu’s POV added and how it enabled us to see what was done to track Dani down. It made the story feel more balanced, and it was a great way to introduce new information naturally. I loved the incorporation of the puzzles and codes, which definitely took Dani’s POV to the next level for me… The mythology angle was great too.

A Killer’s Game turned out to be a fantastic story that I simply couldn’t put down. It reads like one of those action-packed Hollywood conspiracy movies, and I mean that only in the best possible way. High-octane, high speed, lethal and simply exhilarating: if you like this type of thrillers, you will be in for an absolute treat.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.