Title: The Dive
Author: Sara Ochs
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
First published: April 27th 2023
Publisher: Bantam
Finished reading: June 20th 2023
Pages: 363

“None of them ever knew who I really am under this façade, beneath the scar tissue.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bantam in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

I love a good thriller with a foreign setting and/or travel element, so of course I simply HAD to add The Dive to my TBR as soon as I first heard about it. It was cover love at first sight, and not only because of that paradise background, but also because of what is written below the title. What better way to draw a reader in than with the words ‘We hope you survive your stay‘? It worked for me at least… Add the scuba diving, death and the promise of secrets, and I’ve been looking forward to read The Dive.

What a ride it turned out to be! One of the reasons I ended up having such a great time reading The Dive most definitely has to do with the setting. Like I said before, I love a story with a foreign setting and/or travel element, and this story offers both. The Dive is set on a small island in Thailand, and the many vivid descriptions of the setting really make Koh Sang come alive. I was ready to jump on the next plane to paradise long before that final page! The fact that the story is set at a resort and shows what life is like working in tourism really spoke to me (I’ve worked as a hostel receptionist at various Latin American locations in the past), and I liked what this added to the plot.

The Dive uses what is basically a dual POV structure (if you don’t count the prologue and epilogue). The story switches between scuba diving instructor Cass and guest/influencer Brooke, which I personally really appreciated as this way we could see both sides of life at the resort. Both Brooke and Cass seem to be hiding something, and this made it intriguing to see the two interact and watch the story unfold. I did think that Cass’ secret was drawn out too much, and it started to get a bit annoying… But I could understand why she did the things she did considering her mental state.

The writing style is very engaging, and it’s very easy to just keep turning those pages. Especially once the first body shows up, and the tension and suspense increases with each chapter. What really happened that night, was it murder and who would be behind it? What secrets and possibly shady pasts are the characters hiding? There seems to be something off about just about every single one of the Permanents, and as a result there are plenty of suspects to play around with in your head. And while I guessed part of the truth right, and never saw the full picture coming… That epilogue was brilliantly done.

If you are looking for a well written, engaging and suspenseful thriller with a tropical setting and plenty of secrets and suspects, The Dive is an excellent choice. Make sure to brace yourself for a wild ride!


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.