Time for another round of Yvonne’s Shorties! This time around two sequels that definitely ended up delivering for me.


Title: A Different Dawn
(Nina Guerrera #2)
Author: Isabella Maldonado

Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: August 10th 2021
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: July 11th 2023
Pages: 352

“There’s coloring outside the lines, Guerrera, and there’s scribbling all over the walls.”

REVIEW

I still can’t believe I’ve only discovered this author a couple months ago… Isabella Maldonado is quickly turning into another favorite thriller author. I enjoyed my time with the first Nina Guerrera book, and I decided to read both sequels while memories of the first book were still fresh. A Different Dawn is book number two, and I have to say that I enjoyed it even a tiny bit more than the first one. This probably had to do with the fact that I already knew the different characters in play, and it was great seeing them work together as a team. It also means that it’s probably best to read the books in order; the first book provides a lot of background and gives you more insight in why the characters behave the way they do. The case in A Different Dawn is completely separate, although there is once again a personal link to main character Nina Guerrera. While things can be said about the credibility of certain aspects of the plot including this link, as a whole this sequel still delivers an entertaining, suspenseful and action-packed ride. I can never seem to resist a serial killer thriller, and the case in A Different Dawn is without doubt intriguing. There are some personal developments as well, and I’m already looking forward to see what the third and final book will bring.


Title: Practice Makes Perfect
(When In Rome #2)
Author: Sarah Adams

Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: May 2nd 2023
Publisher: Dell
Finished reading: July 12th 2023
Pages: 338

“It seems to me, Annie, that you are just waiting for someone to give you permission to be yourself out loud.”


REVIEW

There is no secret that Sarah Adams is one of my favorite romance authors, and I’ve been waiting impatiently for Practice Makes Perfect to be published ever since I first heard about it. I loved the first book When In Rome last year, and I’ve looking forward to Annie and Will’s story. I have to say that it didn’t disappoint! Rome, Kentucky, makes for the perfect small town setting, and I loved being able to return and spend more time with its cast of characters. Annie and Will are both such great characters, and their story is basically your typical opposites attract romance. As usual, the romance itself is on the sweet side, although there is some sexy time involved as well. Somehow I didn’t mind those scenes though, because I was too busy rooting for them by that time. There were some moments in the plot that were a tad frustrating, but as a whole I liked what Practice Makes Perfect brings to the table and the elements it offered besides the romance angle. I definitely can’t wait to see what the next book set in this small town is going to be about! I’m keeping my fingers crossed it will involve James.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.