Title: A Different Kind Of Gone
Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary
First published: December 5th 2023
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Finished reading: November 25th 2023
Pages: 293

“We’re swimming in a sea of unintended consequences.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Lake Union Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

It’s only been a year since I discovered this author, and her stories are quickly turning Catherine Ryan Hyde into one of my favorite authors. She is brilliant at character development and tackling serious topics in her books, and A Different Kind Of Gone is no exception to that rule. I know I HAD to read this story as soon as I first read the blurb. It is such a complicated situation, and I couldn’t wait to see how everything would play out. And while this story wasn’t my favorite of hers, there is no denying that it was still a powerful read.

I mentioned character development before, and this is once again one of the main reasons A Different Kind Of Gone works so well. Norma makes for such a fascinating character, and the same goes for Jill and the rest of the cast. The focus of this story is without doubt on their realistic and thorough development, and it was intriguing to see them grow over time and react to the different situations. This is a story of female bonds and unlikely friendship as well as the very present domestic abuse, and I liked how the first added a more positive and hopeful note to what is quite a dark story.

Domestic abuse is without doubt the main theme of this story, and I could really appreciate how this element was woven into the plot. The situation Norma, Jill and the others find themselves in is a complicated one, but sadly not unique. It makes you wonder about the consequences of domestic abuse, and just how hard it can be to protect yourself from your abuser and go on with your life. Let’s just say that I can understand why they did what they did! There is a huge moral dilemma in play though in the present, and it was interesting to see how the different characters react to it.

I do have to say that the pace itself was considerably slower than expected, and certain parts of the story dragged a bit. While part of me liked the discussion of the moral dilemmas and the legal part, it went on for a bit too much to my liking. The resolution was also a bit abrupt and too convenient, but in the end those were mostly just minor niggles. Like I said before: while A Different Kind Of Gone isn’t my favorite Catherine Ryan Hyde book, it is still a more than solid story that without doubt packs a punch.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.