Title: The Buried Hours
Author: R.S. Grant
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: December 5th 2023
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: December 5th 2023
Pages: 376

“That she’d been betrayed by the very kind of person she gave voice to had been her impetus to stay in the game.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

This was another title I couldn’t resist adding to my shelves after reading the blurb, because I do love a good thriller with a survival/wilderness angle. The main character Signe’s background also had me fully intrigued, and I’ve been looking forward to dive into this story partly set in Yosemite. I’m happy to announce that I most definitely hit the jackpot here, and I ended up having an absolute blast with The Buried Hours! Dark, shocking, gritty and simply impossible to put down: this thriller means business indeed.

There is a lot to unpack in The Buried Hours, but I’ve decided to keep this review on the short side to avoid spoilers. Trust me, this story will have even more impact if you don’t exactly know what is coming! What I can say is that Yosemite plays a key role in the plot, and the descriptions of the park and the hike were both thorough and vivid. Add the suspense and things happening along the way, and I was literally on the edge of my seat the whole time. Oh yes, the wilderness/survival angle most definitely hit the mark for me!

The plot switches between Signe and Cole, and it’s a great way to both add more suspense and give more insight into their characters and their growing connection. Both characters were quite easy to warm up to, although the whole mystery around Cole does make you doubt his true intentions. Signe is a complicated and without doubt flawed character, but the fact that she doesn’t give up and is determined to discover the truth shows her resilience. It makes you root for her almost straight away, although certain actions also make you want to shake her to make her see sense… Either way, I was invested in her story until the very end.

Like I said before, there is a lot to unpack in The Buried Hours, and there are a lot of different subplots, twists and secrets to be revealed along the way. This story doesn’t shy away from heavy topics or graphic scenes, so it might not be the best book if you have a weak stomach… If you don’t mind your thrillers on the dark and twisted side, you will fully appreciate this wild and exhilarating ride though. The plot twists themselves were mainly successful, and there were a couple that hit me completely out of the blue. What I also didn’t expect was the romance, and the sexy scenes were a bit too much for me, but I loved the rest of the story too much to be truly bothered by them.

There is a lot to love in The Buried Hours, and I ended up reading most of the book in one sitting. Once you get a glimpse of the full scope of this story, it will be hard to stop reading, that’s for sure! I definitely want to read more of this author now.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.