Title: Cold Victory
Author: Karl Marlantes
Genre: Historical Fiction
First published: January 9th 2024
Publisher: Grove Press
Finished reading: January 6th 2024
Pages: 347

“Courage takes many forms.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Grove Press in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

I knew I HAD to read Cold Victory as soon as I read the blurb. I have a weak spot for historical fiction set during or just after WWII, and I don’t often get to visit Finland at the same time. I was intrigued by the 1947 Finnish setting, while also looking forward to learn more about the Russian influence at that time… And I have to say that this story more than delivered for me. Part historical fiction, part political thriller and part survival story, Cold Victory turned out to be an atmospheric, captivating and simply fascinating read!

This is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I was thoroughly impressed by the descriptions and development of the historical setting. The author was able to truly bring Finland to life with the abundant descriptions of both the setting itself and the local customs. The Finland wilderness was beautifully described in the survival part of the plot, and harsh environment almost felt like yet another character. I could also highly appreciate the incorporation and explanation of the Finnish situation in 1947 with its Russian influence, as it’s not something you come across often in books and my knowledge about the post war era in Finland was limited. The way this information was incorporated into the plot felt natural and didn’t slow down the pace at all.

Cold Victory tells its story using a multiple POV structure, although we mainly stick with the two military attaché wives. Louise is originally from Oklahoma and I wasn’t too big of a fan of her character to be honest, mostly because she is WAY too naive and almost felt like a caricature. Her character frustrated the hell out of me in certain parts of the plot, and especially how she keeps screwing up and then expecting others to solve the problem. I liked Natalya’s POV a lot better, as it was more nuanced and it gave more insight in what it was like being a Russian in that era. I especially appreciated the Arnie and Mikhail POVs during the wilderness race though, which were fascinating.

While there is a lot of politics involved in Cold Victory, as a whole the plot felt balanced thanks to the other elements in play. This story is also one about friendship and loyalty, as well as the race itself of course… There is a lot of suspense and intrigue to be found along the way, and quite a few heavier topics are incorporated into the plot. I became an instant fan of the writing style, which was both atmospheric and extremely engaging. I literally couldn’t put this story down!

If you enjoy atmospheric, expertly crafted and compelling post war historical fiction, Cold Victory will be a great match. The Finnish wilderness setting is an added bonus! I will be looking forward to read more of this author in the future.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.