Title: The Library Of Borrowed Hearts
Author: Lucy Gilmore
Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: April 30th 2024
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Finished reading: April 5th 2024
Pages: 359

“They don’t get to walk away and then come back like it doesn’t mean anything. We’re human beings, Chloe. Real, live, goddamned human beings. Not just some side characters who disappear the second they decide to turn the page.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

REVIEW

I had my first experience with this author’s work last year when I read The Lonely Hearts Book Club, and it ended up being a 2023 favorite. It’s probably easy to understand why I have been highly anticipating Lucy Gilmore‘s newest title The Library Of Borrowed Hearts… That and the fact that I love a story with a bookish angle and a mystery to solve. I have to say that it turned out to be a very satisfying read indeed!

If you enjoy books with a small town setting, you are in for a treat. The small Washington state town of Colville makes for such a great backdrop, and I liked how the surroundings actually played a role in the plot. What I didn’t expect was that The Library Of Borrowed Hearts was actually a dual timeline story though, where we switch between the present and 1960 (where the story between the two tragic lovers unfolds). Dual timelines can be tricky, as I usually prefer one over the other… And in this case it was the present timeline that stood out for me; the flashbacks mostly just slowed down the pace, although that I admit that I was intrigued by what happened between the two for Jasper to end up the way he was.

This story doesn’t just have a dual timeline plot though, because it also has a multiple POV structure to boot. Especially in the second half you will find a lot of different POVs, although by then you already know all of the characters so it’s easy to keep them apart. I do have to say that it took me a little while to warm up to Chloe, who could be a bit exhausting at times… But I did love her three siblings, and it was fun to read about their antics. Jasper also made for such an intriguing character, and I had a great time getting to know him better over time… He might be your typical grumpy old man in the beginning, but he is sure to win over your heart! The same can’t be said about the mystery woman though.

The Library Of Borrowed Hearts isn’t your ordinary romance, and I wouldn’t even classify it this way. True, there is romance to be found in both timelines, and especially the 1960 chapters have a lot of focus on the doomed lovers and forbidden romance. BUT. This story is also so much more. It’s about family, hardship, unlikely friendships and letting go of the past. It’s a mystery and scavenger hunt as Chloe tries to unravel the full story of what happened between her neighbor and the mysterious woman. And it also has many many delightful quotes and other bookish elements along the way.

All in all if you enjoy a well crafted and multi-layered dual time line story with a dose of intrigue and romance as well as unlikely friendships, I can definitely recommend The Library Of Borrowed Hearts.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.