WWW WEDNESDAYS is a weekly meme hosted by Sam @ Taking On A World Of Words and is all about answering the three questions below.

  • WHAT ARE YOU CURRENTLY READING?

Yes, I’m still working on my May ARCs. xD I’m currently reading The Offing by Roz Nay; I do tend to love an Australian setting. I’ve also started my Dutch read of the year on a whim: Nachtzwemmen by Lucy Clarke (Swimming At Night/The Sea Sisters). I’ve enjoyed her writing in the past, so fingers crossed this Dutch translation will play nice with me. Last but not least, I’m having such a great time with our buddy reread of The Fountains Of Silence by Ruta Sepetys with Nicki! I absolutely loved this story the first time around, and this reread is no different.

  • WHAT DID YOU RECENTLY FINISH READING?

1. Behind A Closed Door by J.D. Barker (3.5/5 stars) REVIEW 04/05
I confess that I’ve been dreading having to pick up Behind A Closed Door ever since I read the blurb. It has become a bad habit to add any new book by one of my favorite authors without reading what it’s about first, and this newest story by J.D. Barker sure has taught me a valuable lesson. Those who follow my blog know that I’m not a fan of sexy scenes in my stories AT ALL, so having that Fifty Shades Of Grey reference right there front and center scared the crap out of me. This is probably the main reason it took me this long to actually pick up my copy of Behind A Closed Door, because I’m usually unable to resist his writing… Fortunately for me, even though this is without doubt my least favorite of his books so far, things weren’t quite as bad as I thought they would be.

2. Life, Loss, And Puffins by Catherine Ryan Hyde (4.5/5 stars) REVIEW 14/05
It’s been less than two years since I finally discovered Catherine Ryan Hyde‘s books, but every single one I’ve read has been excellent so far. I also love a travel element in my stories, so of course I was immediately intrigued by the premise of Life, Loss, And Puffins. And can we all agree with the main characters just how adorable puffins are? Anyhow, I’ve been looking forward to start this book, and as expected I ended up having such a wonderful time following Ru and Gabriel on their journey!

3. Yule Island by Johana Gustawsson (4.75/5 stars) REVIEW 09/05
I’ve been a fan of Johana Gustawsson‘s writing ever since I started reading the Emily Roy & Alexis Castells series. All three books blew me away, and I’ve been looking forward to read more of her books ever since. Add the fact that I have a weak spot for a gothic thriller with a remote and spooky setting, and I’ve been highly anticipating my time with Yule Island. To say that this story didn’t let me down is proobably the understatement of the year… It’s a gloriously atmospheric read with a set of twists that hit me with a sledgehammer. WHAT a read!

4. Anatomy Of A Killer by Romy Hausmann (DNF 25%; 0 stars) REVIEW 16/05
I really didn’t want a second DNF in April, but in the end I just couldn’t bring myself to read more. On paper, Anatomy Of A Killer should have been a perfect fit, because I love a good serial killer thriller. I was intrigued by the premise with its focus on the daughter and her trying to prove her father’s innocence… I fully expected to love this story, but I guess my intuition can’t always be right. I think one of the main roadblocks was the fact that I absolutely despised the writing style. Such a big clash with something so fundamental in a story is almost impossible to overcome, and that is definitely what happened here.

5. Her Dying Secret by Lisa Regan (4.25/5 stars) REVIEW 12/05
I’ve been following the Detective Josie Quinn series ever since the very first book came out, and it is without doubt one of my favorite detective thriller series. I’m always looking forward to spend more time with its characters, so it’s a treat whenever a new sequel finds its way to my kindle. The previous book was quite different than the rest of the series, but Her Dying Secret returns to the same formula I’ve become used to with these books. And while a certain character kind of put a damper on things, I still had a great time reading what is already book number twenty! of a series that shows no signs of slowing down.

6. The Summer Swap by Sarah Morgan (2.5/5 stars) REVIEW 07/05
Right… I didn’t expect this to happen to be honest. I had such a great time with The Book Club Hotel last year that I immediately jumped at the opportunity to read Sarah Morgan‘s newest story early. I loved the sound of the Cape Cod setting as well as the growing bond between the two women that seemed to have an unlikely friendship vibe… And I admit that I fully expected to enjoy my time with The Summer Swap. Imagine my surprise when I ended up struggling considerably with this summer read instead. It definitely wasn’t the book for me after all. More about the why in my review.

  • WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU’LL READ NEXT?

Next up even more May ARCs… First up is Guilty Mothers by Angela Marsons, because of course I can’t resist a new DI Kim Stone for long. I also need to read Into The Flames by James Delargy as it’s due to be archived soon. Afterwards it’s time for a quick break from thrillers with Prickly Company by Kitty Johnson; I love the sound of the hedgehog angle! My newest TBR jar pick Burn by Patrick Ness will have to wait until May.


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.