It’s All About Books

itsallaboutbooks2017

IT’S ALL ABOUT BOOKS… Well, at least books have an important role of my life. They form a way to escape reality; for me to enter a different world. A place where everything is possible, only limited by the imagination of its writer. Like someone famous once said: ‘Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body‘.

I’ve been reading ever since I was three years old, devouring books by dozens at my hometown library. I continued reading all the way through high school, and later decided to study Spanish Language And Culture and read some more. A few years ago I started travelling, and that’s when the idea came up to start keeping track of the books I’ve read… Hence this blog It’s All About Books was born, with reviews of all the books I’ve been reading since November 2012.

Before I leave I would like to say that I’m always looking for new books to add to my TBR list, and I would love any recommendations you might think of. I’m trying to broaden my literary horizon, so I’m open to practically any literary genre… 🙂

110 thoughts on “It’s All About Books

  1. Hi!
    I’ve been reading your book reviews and would like to invite you to a new Pinterest board:

    This is a place for book lovers to share their favorite books and also a great place to increase traffic to your website by pinning your own book reviews or book-related discussions.

    To join, please follow the board http://www.pinterest.com/lasesana/books-to-read-reviews-and-recommendations/ (I cannot invite you to join the group unless we both follow each other), when I see you join, I’ll invite you to pin! If you don’t get an invitation, shoot me a quick email lasesana@gmail.com including your Pinterest username and I’ll send you the invitation!

  2. Hi, thanks for following our blog. I hope you enjoy the stories of our journey, both inner and outer. I wish I had time to read. I used to read a lot but now it’s only occasional. The blog, and travelling take up all my time. Not that I’m complaining! Happy reading. Cheers, Alison

    • I very much enjoy your stories, and those last posts about Argentina, Bolivia and Peru just made me relive my own travels… Life is too short and travelling is definitely a great way to spend time. Carpe diem!

  3. Hello! Thanks for following my blog – it gave me an introduction to yours. I love people who read and review books – books are a passion of mine. I really enjoyed your book reviews. I understand you write fiction as well. I look forward to checking out your stories. 🙂

  4. Agree, reading is good exercise for the mind and local libraries rock. If more people loved libraries, and more people chose to read regularly, the world be a better place.

    Books are fun and full of knowledge.

    • I totally agree. It is a shame people prefer watching TV or surfing the internet over reading. Books are seen as ancient, not of this time, while we can learn so much of them…

      • True, television does present an easy and entertaining alternative to reading, but I think it is not as good for the imagination. I like to inspire my friends to pick up books instead of the TV remote. One thing I’ve noticed, since I started writing about books publicly, is that reading is often something that is not talked about socially, something done in private. But, as soon as I started sharing my enthusiasm for books, people soon started to recommend things for me to read.

        Was great to have a response.

      • I’m trying to inspire them to do the same; with the huge amount of books available in the world, it’s not likely there isn’t at least one book they would enjoy. It is true though what you say that people don’t seem to discust their reading publicly… Almost as if it wouldn’t be socially acceptable to do so. I guess that it leaves it to us booklovers to all try and convince them by sharing our enthusiasm, and maybe that way people won’t be as afraid anymore to share their reading experiences…

      • Good to hear you’re trying to get your friends talking about books. There’s always something for everyone – fiction, romance, sci-fi, history, psychology, geography, graphic novels, fantasy, crime – and there’s nothing better than reading a good book. We need stories, we need to learn things, and we need to use our imagination.

        Books are the place to go.

    • Thank you for taking the time to stop by! Bowie is just beautiful, as are the photos on your blog! Bedankt! (Sorry my Dutch is a bit rusty… 😉 )

  5. Hey! I’m digging your blog, you’ve got some great books on here I’ve never really checked out. I’d like to recommend you read American Gods by Neil Gaiman sometime, if you haven’t as yet. I think you may enjoy it. It doesn’t seem like your usual read, but I think it’s a book you’d like nonetheless.

    • Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the recommendation! I’m always trying to look for more diversity in books, and I definitely will be trying to get my hands on a copy of American Gods. 🙂

    • Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment! Reading is mostly what is keeping me sane in this crazy world. 😉 I have actually read The Shadow Of The Wind in three different languages, although the last time was before I started this blog… It’s one of my favorites.

      • The advantages of being a philologist I guess. 😉 I first read it in Dutch back when it was published, then had to read it in English for an assignment… And later I decided to read the original version in Spanish just because I prefer untranslated books. (Unless it’s a language I really can’t understand of course.)

      • That’s still pretty awesome! I wish I could speak Afrikaans; I have some distant relatives living close to Kruger National Park…

  6. Why hello, and thank you for stopping by & following my blog! I noticed that many of the books on your to-read list are on mine as well—specifically “And the Mountains Echoed” and “American Gods,” to name just a couple.

    • And thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on mine! Especially ‘And The Mountains Echoed’ has been on my list for a long time… Khaled Hosseini until now was able to write strong books, so I’m looking forward to it.

  7. Hi Yvo, As you will know from my blog, my novel ‘Ignoring Gravity’ is due to be published in September 2014 by BNBS Books. I’ve finally got the ms back from the copy-editor and wondered if you would like to review it on your blog? As it is an advance copy it is only available as PDF at this stage. Let me know what you think. Kind regards, Sandra
    sdan2364[at]btinternet[dot]com

    • Sorry for the late reply, I had some internet problems… I would be honored to read and review your novel! I read a lot of e-books, so it doesn’t bother me if it’s a pdf file… Just tell me where and when to get it and I will read your novel with pleasure.

  8. So many good books in your queue! I’ve read a few and am intrigued by the ones I haven’t…I am going to follow you on Goodreads 🙂

    Just based off titles I saw in your list, I’d also recommend Everything is Illuminated (also by Jonathan Safran Foer) and the Stephen King’s recent follow-up book to The Shining, Doctor Sleep.

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell was also phenomenal, and I was recently blown away by Wool by Hugh Howey, a post-apocalyptic story about people living underground. If you have any recent faves I would also love to hear them 🙂 Happy reading!

    • I just accepted you on Goodreads, thanks for the invitation! I’m really excited about my readinglist, and it’s actually hard to decide which book to read next. I’ll be adding your recommendations to my list, and I will be watching your Goodreads for any new books… Sometimes I just wish I had more time to be able to finish all those books faster. 😉

      Interesting books I’ve read lately include Bay Of Secrets by Rosanna Ley (if you’re interested in Spanish Civil War stories; it’s a perfect summer read too), The Road by Cormac McCarthy (impressive story about a father and son travelling within a postapocalyptic world), Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson (about a woman with memory-loss who slowly tries to recover her identity) and The Pianist by Władysław Szpilman (only if you enjoy stories/testimonies about Jews during WWII; the movie is impressive too). There are a lot more, but those are the ones I can recall right now. 🙂

      Happy reading to you too!

      • I know! So many books, so little time.

        Thank you for the recs, these look great! Looking forward seeing your future reads. Always nice to encounter a fellow eclectic reader– surprises are in no short supply 🙂

      • Sometimes I just wish I could freeze time so I can read more… 😉 And it’s true, I love reading books belonging to a lot of different genres just so I can surprise myself over and over again… For me it’s the best way to get to know books and authors I would normally not consider straight away. I will be looking out for your future reads too; it’s always great to meet a fellow book-lover. 🙂

  9. Hi, thanks for liking one of my blog posts. I’m glad you did because it meant that I found your blog! 🙂 I love books and started reading very early too, around the age of four. My mother says that people used to ask her how she taught me to read so young and apparently I was just very inquisitive and tried to read everything. When I was younger, if there wasn’t anything nearby that I could read (i.e. at the dinner table) I used to read the labels on jam jars and cereal boxes! I have always been an enthusiastic reader.

    Another thing we have in common is that I am currently studying Spanish for part of my degree and in late September/early October, I am going to Spain (to Cataluña) for seven months to teach English. 🙂 Did you enjoy your time in Madrid when you studied there?

    • Thanks for stopping by! I’ve been addicted to book alls my life. My mother was always reading bedtime stories to me when I was little, and I soon wanted to start reading myself so I didn’t have to wait until bedtime to know how the story would finish. Books formed an imaginary world where I could escape to…

      And you are going to love Cataluña! Where in Cataluña are you going to teach?The whole province is beautiful, as is the rest of Spain… The only problem you might have is the language, since Catalan is completely different from Spanish. But since they normally speak both languages and you’re not going to study at a Catalan university, you should be fine. 🙂

      I loved my nine months in Madrid and I really want to go back there one day. Even though it’s the capital of Spain, there are lots of places to hide away or escape from the madness. Not only in the city, but since Madrid is situated in the center of Spain it is quite easy and not too expensive to travel around the country. During those months I visited more than 20 cities, both close to Madrid and a few hours away (for example Zaragoza, Valencia, Cuenca, Granada). The great part about Spain is that every city is unique in its own way, and it’s really worth it to travel around if you have the time!

      • I’m not sure whereabouts in Cataluña I’m going to be yet. I applied via the British Council language teaching scheme and I’m waiting for an email which will tell me my exact location. I should hear by mid-July! 🙂

        People have mentioned that I might find it a bit confusing at first, with the Catalan language difference. But I’m not too worried, although I suppose it might be difficult to understand the children I’m teaching (I’m going to be in a primary school) if they all speak in Catalan.

        I can’t wait to travel around and really explore Spain! 🙂 My job is only 12 hours a week so I’m sure I’ll find time for travelling at weekends and on my day off. I look forward to blogging about it as well.

      • Oh nice! The whole province is beautiful, so I’m sure you will love living in Cataluña wherever you will end up. 🙂 Mostly the kids grow up speaking both languages, unless their parents are extremely nationalistic. (At least that’s what I’ve experienced.) So I guess you should be fine with Spanish only, especially since you’re going to teach English…

        And if you have free time, I say go for it! It’s not too expensive to travel around, especially with daytrips, and there are a lot of interesting places to visit all around Spain. Of course it depends a little on if you have good access to transportation nearby, but unless you want to go all the way south or west, travel distances are not too big.

        I will be looking forward reading about your Cataluña adventure! 🙂

  10. Really you think its not socially acceptable anymore to read? I mean I’ve always gotten people that wonder why I’m reading and not say watching the new popular TV show but overall most of the people I socialize with a good deal of them also read avidly. If anyone were to downright snub their nose at my reading then I just wouldn’t have anything to do with them.

    Bring on the reading power!

    • There are a lot of people who read obviously, but what I was trying to say is that especially the younger generation is more interested in watching TV or surfing the internet nowadays, books being cast aside… But I totally agree, when people judge my reading, I would just say they’re not worthy of my time. Bring on the books! 🙂

      • Yes I completely agree many are skipping over the books and going for the TV and games. But that started even in my generation with folks that are in their 30’s now. As soon as those home gaming consoles came about the book industry took a big hit.

        I know many many people in my age range (early 30’s) who haven’t touched a book since highschool or college. It’s an instant gratification time we’re living in unfortunately. But I think there will always be those of us that prefer reading to other entertainment. =)

      • I can totally agree with that; I see the same with people in their late twenties. A lot complain that they’ve already done enough forced reading during high school/ college, and prefer other entertainment over reading. But I think that as long as there are books, there will exist people that want to read them. 🙂

  11. Hi, Yvo! I wasn’t able to find an email for you, so I figured the best way to contact you was through your Intro page. Thanks for following Alison’s Wonderland Recipes! I’ve switched my website to a new domain host (Bluehost), so I’m going to lose all my followers when I close my now-defunct WordPress account. If you would still like to receive updates about new posts at wonderlandrecipes.com, you can visit the website and re-follow by clicking the “+ Follow” button at the bottom right hand side of the page. Thank you! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for considering me for a nomination! I really appreciate it. 🙂 Since I tecnically don’t apply for a Liebster Award anymore (only under 200 followers) and I don’t have a lot of spare time at the moment, I’m afraid I won’t be able to put together a full post… But thanks again for nominating me! 😀

      • Aww, too bad I was hoping to get to know you more. But it’s okay! I’ll just keep track on your blog posts, haha. You’re welcome 🙂 And more power to your blog!

    • I’m sorry to hear that, but I’m glad you were able to find solace in books. They are a way to travel around and to different worlds and above all a way to temporarily escape reality…

  12. I just subscribed to your posts so not sure if you’ve read Haruki Murakami books but I love looooooove Norwegian Wood! 🙂 It’s a perfect read on a rainy day. Put on some Beatles too while you’re at it!

    • I haven’t read any of his work so far, but I have both Norwegian Wood and 1Q84 on my TBR pile…Hopefully I will be able to read at least one of them some time soon. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Let’s Celebrate Autumn…With a Book Tag! | The Fall-Time Cosy Book Tag | Book Snacks

  14. Pingback: New York By The Book Tag | geniereads

  15. Pingback: The NetGalley Book Tag – A Keyboard and an Open Mind

  16. Pingback: The Entertainer Blogger Award | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog

  17. Pingback: The Fall Activities Tag – duskangelreads

Leave a Reply

