brwarmbodies

Title: Warm Bodies
(Warm Bodies #1)
Author: Isaac Marion
Genre: YA, Horror, Romance
First published: October 28th 2010
Finished reading: May 9th 2015
Pages: 239
Rating 3

“My friend “M” says the irony of being a zombie is that everything is funny, but you can’t smile, because your lips have rotted off.”

myrambles1review

I’m normally not really into stories zombies mostly because the way authors describe them doesn’t feel ‘real’. It made me a bit hesitant to pick up Warm Bodies, but I decided to read it anyway since it was recommended to me and I needed a horror read for one of my reading challenges. I like the fact that Isaac Marion uses different kind of zombies in his story, where the ‘bonies’ are different from the ‘fresh’ zombies. Still, the story in general had too much romance and too little action in it for my taste. At some points I felt I was actually reading a cheesy romance novel where the potential boyfriend just happened to be a flesh eating zombie… And that was exactly what I didn’t expect OR want to read. I was in the mood for a horror read, but I guess Warm Bodies turned out to be more like a YA romance read with a touch of dystopia… Those who enjoy the romance genre and don’t like scary books will probably love this one, but I found myself a bit disappointed.

shortsummary1review

R is a zombie, but he doesn’t feel like the other zombies at their airport community. Sure, he attacks humans and loves eating their brains, but he craves for something more… He is not like the mindless Dead and even though he can’t remember his past, he has dreams about the future. When he attacks a bunch of kids in the city and eats one of the teenage boy’s brains, R sees all his memories. R doesn’t know why, but he decides to rescue the boy’s girlfriend Julie and take her back to the airport. R wants to protect Julie, and soon an awkward friendship is starting to develop between the zombie and the human girl. R is starting to change under her influence, but can this zombie infection really be reversed? And what do the other Dead think about having an easy snack just outside their reach?

finalthoughtsreview

I really wanted Warm Bodies to be a proper horror read, but it turned out to be nowhere close to scary. I guess that and the many romance scenes are the main reasons I was disappointed by this read. Sure, the characters are interesting and R is indeed a very special zombie. Sure, the prose is easy to read and overall it’s a quick read. But it just wasn’t what I was expecting and it could have done with more action. Still, if you like romantic dystopian novels, you will most likely enjoy reading Warm Bodies.