brwhatlieswithin

Title: What Lies Within
Author: James Morris
Genre: YA, Thriller, Mystery
First published: June 2nd 2015
Finished reading: June 24th 2015
Pages: 226
Rating 4,5

“She recalled Matthew’s warning to her, seemingly so long ago. “You’re in danger,” he’d said. And she realized with horrifying clarity: I’m not in danger. I am the danger.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1review

I have been seriously neglecting the whole mystery/thriller genre lately, so when I was asked to read and review What Lies Within I immediately said yes. I was intrigued by the cover and blurb and now I’ve read it I can say this novel by James Morris exceeded my expectations. I was drawn into the story from the beginning. The fast pace combined with a delightfully creepy game of hide and seek made it hard to stop reading before reaching the last page… I do not agree with everything the main character Shelley does and the love triangle was a minor setback. But since the focus in What Lies Within doesn’t lay on the romance and it is actually full of sometimes horrifying action scenes, I still really enjoyed this read. I personally wasn’t all that bothered that there weren’t many scientific details included to explain the experiment, because most answers can be guessed quite easily anyway. All in all a very entertaining thriller read with a touch of horror and genetics experiments. Recommended!

shortsummary1review

Shelley Marano lives with her father after her mother died in an accident. She is a high school senior and helps her father out in his auto body shop, but as soon as she graduates she wants to go to college. Everything changes after she received a mysterious text message. Apparently, she doesn’t only have a brother she doesn’t know about, she also is adopted and in mortal danger. Shelley and twelve others are involved in a genetics experiment than went wrong, and they are busy killing off the test subjects to hide the evidence. Shelley soon has to run for her life… But she also wants to find out who she really is.

finalthoughtsreview

What Lies Within is a truly entertaining read that will keep you on the edge of your seat. It’s full of action and even creepy at times, and the only drawback would be the few not so credible romance scenes and a love triangle. The rest of the story made up for it though and I would definitely recommend this read if you like a good and scary mystery/thriller read.