Reading Goals: 2017 Edition

readinggoals2017

Now I have recovered from New Years Eve and wrapped up the December month, it’s time to think about my reading goals for 2017. I still can’t believe I was able to read over 180 for the second year in a row, and I don’t pretend I will be able to reach that amount again… So I have decided to not stress myself and keep my challenges reasonable. These will be my goals:

READING:

  • I have set my Goodreads Reading Challenge to 100 books.
  • Read at least 5 classics (rereads don’t count)
  • Complete at least 5 series (rereads don’t count)
  • Reread at least 3 books
  • Bring my physical TBR pile below 250 books and keep it that way.
  • Read at least one book over 800 pages
  • Read at least 2 books in Spanish
  • Read at least 1 book in Dutch
  • Join at least 5 challenges during the year
  • Keep my Netgalley ratio above the 80%
  • Start a Twitter account and use it regularly


BLOGGING/LIFE:

  • bloggingUpdate more frequently and try not to get too behind with reviews
  • Be more active in the community and try to comment more. I always try to, but somehow it is hard to find enough time to read, blog AND comment on the blogs I follow…
  • Participate in a 5km run! I really have to focus more on my running this year.
35 thoughts on “Reading Goals: 2017 Edition

    • I was going for the new George R.R. Martin, but I don’t think it will ever get published xD. I have two possible titles I can think of right now though: The Wise Man’s Fear or Outlander.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m actually afraid to read Outlander because of the size and the fact that I’m quite positive it has a LOT of romance… But I guess I should just try to find out right?

        Liked by 1 person

      • if it has that much romance, maybe put it off till the right moment? I don’t know how about you, but I do have various reading moods and sometimes even a romance is just the thing.

        Plus I always recommend sampling a book if you’re not sure about it :D.Or borrowing one?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I can totally relate; I’m a mood reader as well although it doesn’t happen often I’m in the mood for romance haha. I have a copy on my kindle already, so it’s easy to just try a few chapter to see how it goes. I tried last year but wasn’t in the mood…

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Good luck with your goals! Wow, 180 is impressive! 🙂 But you’re right, it’s better to not pressure yourself with numbers and enjoy the ride! I reached the 80% ratio on NG and I intend on keeping it this way, I was so relieved when it happened this week xD I feel much better about my ARCs now! I totally understand what you mean about being active around here. I do my best to keep time to blog but between the reviews and posts to write, the actual reading of books, the blogs to read and comment on, I find it hard to visit everyone’s corner and keep up with everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I reached the 80% ratio other day as well and I’m keeping my fingers triple-crossed no request will come through before I finish another ARC so my rating won’t drop below haha. It feels so good to finally reach it though! 😀 And I agree it’s VERY hard to find the time to do everything… Especially reading and commenting other blogs, which is a shame.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great goals! 180 books in a year is so impressive – well done! And good luck with your 2017 goal – I’m sure you can do it 🙂 I feel your pain with keeping up with reading, reviewing and commenting – it is a lot. Lastly, good luck with the 5k – I’m aiming for that this year too! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck with your goals. I think that I need to borrow the one on NetGalley ratio. My ratio is currently at 68% but I have almost 30 ARCs. It is so overwhelming. Seriously, I don’t know why I borrow so many books.

    I get what you mean about being more active. I also struggle with the same. There are so many wonderful blogs but trying to read and comment on many posts becomes difficult with all the other commitment. However, I think making an effort is always appreciated so don’t worry about it so much. Just do the best that you can ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m trying to request less ARCs this year because I agree it can get overwhelming… It’s SO hard though with so many interesting sounding titles on Netgalley. Good luck to you too! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

