I have been using my TBR jar for a long time now, although I only started keeping track of them just before the end of 2014. I have had mixed results with the ‘official’ rules, and therefore created my own more relaxed rules and I’ve been able to actually use my TBR jar this way… Last December I finally updated my TBR jar to its current version; long overdue as I hadn’t added any new books to the old one since 2016. Whoops? Below you can see what 700+ books look like in tiny pieces of paper; they almost didn’t fit either haha.

 I also realized I never made a The Numbers post after the first 25 TBR Jar Picks and 10 More TBR Jar Picks… Which means I’m almost 30 titles behind; another whoops? I decided to dedicate this post to TBR jar pick 36 to 55, read between September 2017 and March 2020. Let’s hope I will be able to put together the next The Numbers post a little more quickly. 😉

First of all, let me introduce you to the 20 books that have made it to this list:

36. Flowers For Algernon by Daniel Keyes (September 21st 2017) (4 stars)
37. Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly (February 11th 2018) (4 stars)
38. Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke (March 10th 2018) (2,5 stars)
39. Summer Of Sloane by Erin L. Schneider (April 22nd 2018) (2,5 stars)
40. When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore (June 26th 2018) (3 stars)

41. Thin Wire by Christine Lewry (July 17th 2018) (3 stars)
42. An Officer And A Spy by Robert Harris (November 12th 2018) (DNF; 0 stars)
43. The Insect Farm by Stuart Prebble (January 13th 2019) (3 stars)
44. The Shattering by Karen Healey (January 29th 2019) (3 stars)
45. Be Frank With Me by Julia Claiborne Johnson (February 25th 2019) (2,5 stars)

46. Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt (March 27th 2019) (3,5 stars)
47. Sweetheart by Chelsea Cain (May 2nd 2019) (4,5 stars)
48. The Dead Girls Of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender (May 13th 2019) (3,5 stars)
49. The Problem With Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout (June 29th 2019) (2 stars)
50. The Cellar by Natasha Preston (August 22nd 2019) (3 stars)

51. The Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson (August 28th 2019) (3,5 stars)
52. The Museum Of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffman (October 21st 2019) (DNF; 0 stars)
53. Like This For Ever by S.J. Bolton (January 7th 2020) (4 stars)
54. What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler (February 4th 2020) (4 stars)
55. The Storied Life Of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin (March 23rd 2020) (5 stars)

Let’s review my TBR jar choices, shall we? On to the numbers…

First of all some quick facts. The 20 books on this list have a total page count of 7.077 pages; an average of about 354 pages per book. The average rating is 3,03 stars, which is quite low but then again I did have 2 DNF on the list. Still, I had quite a few good ones too.

And now some graphics for those who like them as much as I do.

This explains why my average rating ended up being quite low… 55% of the books received a 3 star rating or less, which is definitely way below my regular numbers. I guess my TBR jar doesn’t know it all after all? 😉

This one is actually quite surprising since I have been reading mainly Adult books these recent years, but I guess my TBR jar wants me to read mostly YA? Having no Middle Grade title at all isn’t all that strange though, because I hardly read books belonging to that age group in the first place.

I somehow seem to read a lot more books written by female authors in general, so this graphic isn’t all that surprising. I still do wish to balance this number more in the future, but with the TBR jar making the choices it won’t be easy. xD

The main genre is basically the most dominant genre I think each book belongs to. I definitely like how this one seems more balanced out than my regular main genre numbers… As I normally have a way bigger number of mystery/thriller/horror reads. I guess the TBR jar does make me read more diverse!

I have been reading less series in general, so I’m not all that surprised most TBR jar picks were stand-alones. I do have quite a few series I really want to get to, but in general it’s not the TBR jar that makes me pick them up. 😉

Most books that belong to my list of TBR jar picks are recently published, although none after 2016 as I never actually added the new titles to my old TBR jar after that. xD I’m glad to see 8 books were published in 2013 or before though! And one of them published in the 1960s.

Last graphic: unsurprisingly most books I’ve read have between 300 and 399 pages, which seems to be the norm with the books I read in general. No short and very long reads here, although four titles did have 400 pages or more.


Tired of numbers yet? I know I am! That’s it for this TBR jar picks review; I’m looking forward to the next 10… Do you have a TBR jar and does it work for you? 


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.