I have been using my TBR jar for a long time now, although I only started keeping track of them just before the end of 2014. I have had mixed results with the ‘official’ rules, and therefore created my own more relaxed rules and I’ve been able to actually use my TBR jar this way.

After my previous The Numbers posts for TBR jar pick 1-85 in 25 TBR Jar Picks, 10 More TBR Jar Picks, 20 More TBR Jar Picks,  10 More TBR Jar Picks, 10 More TBR Jar Picks and 10 More TBR Jar Picks it’s time to look at TBR jar pick 86 to 95, read between June 2023 and January 2024.

First of all, let me introduce you to the 10 books that have made it to this list:

86. The Cipher by Isabella Maldonado (June 8th 2023 (4 stars)
87. Rattle by Fiona Cummins (July 15th 2023) (2 stars)
88. The Deceivers by Kristen Simmons (July 29th 2023) (3 stars)
89. Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel (September 7th 2023) (4.25 stars)
90. The Girl He Needs by Kristi Rose (September 18th 2023) (2.25 stars)

91. Letters To The Lost by Brigid Kemmerer (October 22nd 2023) (4 stars)
92. The Slow Lane Walkers Club by Rosa Temple (November 17th 2023) (2 stars)
93. Reminders Of Him by Colleen Hoover (November 30th 2023) (5 stars)
94. The Library Of The Dead by T.L. Huchu (December 24th 2023) (2 stars)
95. Long Road To Mercy by David Baldacci (January 30th 2024) (4.25 stars)

Let’s review my TBR jar choices, shall we? On to the numbers…

First of all some quick facts. The 10 books on this list have a total page count of 3.644 pages; an average of about 364 pages per book. The average rating is 3,28 stars, which is slightly higher than my previous TBR jar picks.

And now some graphics for those who like them as much as I do. 😉

This explains why my average rating ended up being quite low despite the fact that 50% of the books received a 4 star rating or higher; I also had three 2 star ratings (and a 2.25 star rating).

I hardly read any YA/MG books in general, so this pie chart doesn’t come as a surprise to be honest.

I somehow seem to read a lot more books written by female authors in general, so I’m glad I got in three male authors at least.

The main genre is basically the most dominant genre I think each book belongs to. No surprise here, because mystery/thriller/horror is the genre I tend to read most in the first place.

This pie chart comes as a huge surprise, because I tend to read more stand-alones… But I guess my TBR jar wanted me to try more series.

I’m definitely glad with this pie chart, because the majority of the titles were published at least two years ago… This is why I started using my TBR jar in the first place; to try and read more of the older titles on my TBR.

Last graphic: unsurprisingly most books I’ve read have between 300 and 399 pages, which seems to be the norm with the books I read in general. It’s good to see that some were actually over 400 pages though!


Tired of numbers yet? I know I am! That’s it for this TBR jar picks review; I’m looking forward to the next 10… Do you have a TBR jar and does it work for you? 


You can also find me at Goodreads. StoryGraph. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.