Title: Hostage
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense
First published: June 22nd 2021
Publisher: Sphere
Finished reading: May 15th 2021
Pages: 400

“You can tell the troublemakers from the outset. It’s something in their look, as much as their behaviour; something that says I’m better than you.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Sphere in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I admit that it was hook, line and sinker as soon as I first read the blurb of Hostage. I mean, having what is basically a locked room type of story with a plane setting and hijacking element? How would I be able to resist such a story?! I’m glad I didn’t, because this turned out to be exactly the thriller dose I was craving and I literally couldn’t stop reading until I finished it in the small hours. Highly addictive, suspenseful, lots of action as well as a more personal angle… Oh yes, Hostage was without doubt a success for me.

The hijacking element and the fact that at least half of the story takes place inside a plane definitely makes this story stand out. I love a good locked room story, and that is basically what you have here with the passengers and crew being held hostage and not knowing who are behind it all. The twenty hour flight between London and Australia gives us plenty of time for things to escalate and for plot twists to be introduced along the way… And you will find plenty of suspense, action and danger along the way.

These chapters in the plane are mixed up with those focusing on Mina and her family. These chapters have a more psychological/domestic thriller feel as it focuses on her adopted daughter and her problems as well as the matrimonial struggles with her husband Adam. I confess that I wasn’t really a fan of Adam, and Mina didn’t convince me completely either, but Sophie definitely makes up for that. She is such a fascinating little girl! Danger is hinted at as well as certain secrerts Adam seems to be hiding from his family as well as his boss… And what at first glance looks like the docil part of the story, will soon escalate into another element of danger and suspense. It was definitely intriguing to see the two different storylines develop!

Hostage uses a multiple POV structure where we not only focus on Mina and Adam as the events in the air and on the ground take place before and during the hijacking, but we also get to know multiple passengers on the plane as well as the voice of the mastermind behind the hijacking itself. While I do have to say that I guessed part of the final reveal right, as a whole this turned out to be a real pageturner with lots of twists, action and that ominous feel to keep you entertained. And there is no doubt that Hostage ends with a bang!

Things can be said about the credibility of it all, but I personally didn’t mind as I was too busy turning those pages to discover how it would all end. In short, Hostage is without doubt an addictive pageturner and highly entertaining thriller that offers a wide range of different elements.


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. Instagram. Bloglovin’.