Title: The Drowning Girls
(Detective Josie Quinn #13)

Author: Lisa Regan
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Detective
First published: December 10th 2021
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: November 8th 2021
Pages: 225

“Josie Quinn doesn’t get lucky. She overworks herself until she solves the case.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

It’s no secret that Detective Josie Quinn is one of my favorite detective series and one that never seems to let me down. I’m always looking forward to meet up with Josie Quinn and the rest of the team again, and I always feel a little giddy inside whenever a new sequel become available. The Drowning Girls is already book number thirteen of a series that shows no signs of slowing down whatsoever. While not my absolute favorite of the bunch, it’s still a more than solid detective thriller with a case that once again hits close to home!

This series in general is one where there is quite some focus on the personal development of the characters as well as the investigations, so it is very important to read the books in order both to avoid spoilers and to fully understand what is in play. Book number thirteen is another one that hits close to home for both Josie Quinn and the rest of her team, so it’s definitely important to know the background! Josie herself is still dealing with the events of the previous books, and it has been interesting to see how she tries to overcome past obstacles as well as dealing with this new case where one of their own goes missing.

As always, I liked the balance between the more personal elements and the actual investigation and everything it entails. The writing was just as engaging as always and it was really easy to just keep turning those pages… I do have to say that it was surprisingly easy to guess at least part of the truth, which was a bit of a disappointment to be honest. Also, I never like a religious angle in my stories, but that is just a personal pet peeve I guess. That said, The Drowning Girls was still a very entertaining detective thriller and without doubt a worthy addition to the series. I will be looking forward to the next one!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.