Title: Six Graves
(DI Kim Stone #16)

Author: Angela Marsons
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Detective
First published: May 12th 2022
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: April 22nd 2022
Pages: 374

“No matter how much she tried to stay away, the case was coming to her.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I can’t believe I’ve finally caught up with the DI Kim Stone series and that I’m actually able to read and review the ARC this time around! I guess it took me long enough, with Six Graves being already book number sixteen… But considering I only met the detective exactly a year ago at the time of finishing this book, I did go through the previous sequels at a solid enough pace. Of course the fact that this series was one of my favorite new discoveries last year and the fact that the sequels kept delivering had something to do with that… And this newest sequel Six Graves knocked it right out of the park.

I don’t think I’ve been this speechless after reading a prologue for a long time. I literally couldn’t believe what I had just read, my mind reeling and unable to process the information that had just arrived. I mean, what a way to leave any fan of the series shell-shocked after only a few pages! I don’t want to give away spoilers, but those who have already had the chance to read Six Graves will know what I’m talking about. That said, things change quickly to the main case at hand… What seems to be a murder-suicide at first glance, soon turns out to be something a whole lot more complicated, and Kim and her team will have their hands full trying to solve this one.

I’ve decided to keep this review super short to avoid spoilers, because there is also a whole second storyline that is both highly explosive and easily ruined if you get a hint of what is going on before you start reading Six Graves. Trust me, this story will have a lot bigger impact if you don’t know what is coming; going in completely blind is the best way to go this time around. What I can tell is that it is this second ‘mystery’ storyline what makes this sequel stand out and it’s without doubt a story that will stay with me for a long time.

If you are a DI Kim Stone fan, you cannot miss this one! Likewise, if you enjoy well written, suspenseful and entertaining detective thrillers, don’t mind things getting pretty dark and twisted at times and haven’t tried this series yet, you should definitely try scheduling in a meeting! I finally did so myself a year ago and I haven’t looked back since.


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.