brthediviners

Title: The Diviners
(The Diviners #1)
Author: Libba Bray
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Historical Fiction
First published: September 18th 2012
Finished reading: June 19th 2015
Pages: 578
Rating 4

“People will believe anything if it means they can go on with their lives and not have to think too hard about it.”

myrambles1review

I’ve had The Diviners on my TBR shelf for a while now and I’m glad I finally decided to read it. This novel by Libba Bray started off a bit slow, but as soon as the pace picked up I was hooked. The 1920s setting is brilliantly executed and while you are reading this story you really feel as if you travelled back to this era. Not every main character was to my taste, but they all contributed to the story and some parts were delightfully creepy. I was expecting a completely different read, but I ended up enjoying The Diviners even better than I would have hoped. I deducted a star for the slow start, but this one is definitely worth reading. The 1920s setting, a spooky murderer on the loose and an intriguing puzzle to solve… The Diviners is a perfect mix of various genres and I will be waiting impatiently for the sequel Lair Of Dreams to come out this August.

shortsummary1review

Evie O’Neill has a special gift that has gotten her into trouble and with a oneway ticket out of her hometown. She is sent to her uncle in New York and she couldn’t be more excited about living in this big and exciting city. The only catch is that her uncle Will owns a museum dedicated to the occult and she doesn’t want her secret gift to be discovered… A supernatural power that has only caused her trouble so far. But as her uncle becomes involved in a murder investigation with connections to the occult, Evie becomes involved as well and realizes she can no longer ignore her gift. Especially with a crazy murderer on the loose… Will they stop the murders on time?

finalthoughtsreview

It took me a while to get into the story, mostly because of the slow pace in the beginning. But as soon as the murder investigation began I was completely hooked. Libba Bray is able to combine various genres in this novel and make them work together perfectly. The 1920s setting, the supernatural elements and the murder investigation… It just works. I’m glad I’ve finally read The Diviners and I will definitely look forward to the sequel. If you like a setting in a different era, supernatural elements and a good horror/mystery story, you will mostly likely enjoy this read. Recommended!