brmissperegrineshomeforpeculiarchildren

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children
(Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1)
Author: Ransom Riggs
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Horror
First published: June 7th 2011
Finished reading: July 31st 2015
Pages: 352
Rating 4

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

myrambles1review

I’ve had Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children on my radar for a while now, and with so many people reading and loving this series lately I just had to join in and find out what all the fuss is about. This novel by Ransom Riggs has a very interesting plot and I love the old photos he has incorporated into the story. Definitely not what I was expecting and very original. I guess it does mean it’s preferable to read the physical copy over an audiobook… I enjoyed the prose and the pace was quite fast, although the plot felt a bit chaotic at points and some things didn’t make a lot of sense. (Like why are the peculiar children still acting like children after so many years? And why haven’t they tried to find a different place if there are so many timeloops?) Anyhow, overall Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children was still a very enjoyable read and I will definitely read the sequel Hollow City in the near future. Recommended!

shortsummary1review

When his grandfather dies under suspicious circumstances, Jacob decides to dig into his grandfather’s past and find out the meaning of his last words. He has left Jacob a book that has a letter written by Miss Peregrine in it. It’s very old, but Jacob is determined to find her and visit the remote island off the coast of Wales his grandfather was always talking about. He convinces his father to go on a trip, but when they finally arrives the house seems to be abandoned. When Jacob goes exploring by himself one day, he discovers that his grandfather was right all along… And he seems to be in danger as well. Will he be able to save both himself and the peculiar children?

finalthoughtsreview

This book was so not what I was expecting, but I enjoyed reading it anyway. The old photos are a huge bonus and made this book into something special. I agree that not all of them really add to the story, but they are a nice touch and highly original. The plot wasn’t perfect, but I really liked the whole idea behind Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children and I will be looking forward to read more about their world in the sequel.