brthroughthewoods

Title: Through The Woods
Author: Emily Carroll
Genre: Graphic Novel, Horror, Paranormal
First published: July 15th 2014
Finished reading: October 7th 2015
Pages: 208
Rating 4qqq

“It came from the woods. Most strange things do.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I have to confess: this is the first time I’ve read a graphic novel. Sure, I’ve read a few comics and stuff when I was younger, but I guess you can say that otherwise I’m pretty much a graphic novel virgin. As soon as I saw the cover of Through The Woods though, I knew I just had to read it. The illustrations Emily Carroll created are just so beautiful and really made this read something special. With the five short stories being delightfully creepy and the drawings matching the haunting atmosphere just right, this is what you call the perfect Halloween read. Not all five stories are equally terrifying, but I enjoyed reading every single one of them. I liked the illustrations of A Lady’s Hands Are Cold the best, The Nesting Place the scariest and to my surprise in My Friend Janna one of the characters my name! Not only doesn’t that happen that often, but it also appeared during a pretty creepy scene.

throughthewoodsexample

In short, if you enjoy reading creepy graphic stories with beautiful illustrations that you can stare at for hours, Through The Woods is an excellent choice.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

This is a collection of five spooky graphic stories that are basically fairy tales gone wrong.

In Our Neighbor’s House you can travel to your neighbor, but it’s not certain you can return home…
In A Lady’s Hands Are Cold a newly married couple lives in a house with a terrible secret and the wife starts to hear creepy voices…
In His Face All Red two brothers go into the woods to kill a monster, but one of them is tormented by jealousy…
In My Friend Janna two friends pretend one of them can speak to ghosts, but their tricks come back to haunt them…
In The Nesting Place a girl visits her brother and new fiancé, but the woman has a terrible secret…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I do think not every plot is that strong, but the illustrations of Through The Woods more than make up for it. They are just so beautiful and make a perfect match with the haunting stories. Each story is scary in a different way and I really enjoyed reading all of them. The first one, Our Neigbor’s House, works perfectly as an introduction and the last one, The Nesting Place, is the scariest story by far. All in all this graphic novel by Emily Carroll is the perfect Halloween read!