Title: I Have Lost My Way
Author: Gayle Forman
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
First published: March 27th 2018
Publisher: Puck LATAM
Finished reading: December 17th 2018
Pages: 256
(Read in Spanish: ‘Perdimos Nuestro Camino’)

“To be the holder of other people’s loss is to be the keeper of their love. To share your loss with people is another way of giving your love.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Urano Argentina and Puck LATAM through the Masa Crítica program at Babelio in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I don’t read in Spanish nearly enough, so I was over the moon when I found out I was selected for the Masa Crítica program at Babelio and I was going to be receiving my very first bookmail ever. Christmas truly came early this year! I’ve been meaning to pick up another Gayle Forman title for a while now, so I Have Lost My Way came at exactly the right time. There was just something about the blurb that caught my attention straight away, and I have been looking forward to dive in ever since. There is no doubt that I had an excellent time reading this story. I found myself fully invested right from the first chapter, fully aware of the signs this was going to be an emotional rollercoaster… But ready for it being so. The first thing that stands out in I Have Lost My Way is the writing style, which is very easy to enjoy and makes you read it superfast. There are also a lot of quotable lines here! Another thing that stands out for me are the characters and their development. Freya, Harun and Nathaniel are basically what made this story into such a success for me and their development is both realistic, well executed and spot on. I loved the diversity of this story! All three main characters are so unique and each have their own background story and problems, and I just loved reading about how they found each other and how this affects them. There are some very emotional moments here and this story will without doubt mess with your heart, especially since the main characters are so easy to like and connect to. You’ve been warned! I had a wonderful time reading I Have Lost My Way and I can definitely recommend this story to any contemporary romance fan looking for a well written, diverse and emotional ride.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Three strangers find each other in the middle of New York City as they each are trying to facetheir own problems. Freya loses her voice while recording her debut album, and suddenly isn’t so sure about her future as a budding star anymore. Harun is planning to run away from home to be with the boy he loves… And Nathaniel arrives in New York after a family tragedy leaves him all alone. Their lives collide literally in Central Park, and slowly they will help each other find the way back again to who they are supposed to be…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

This Spanish translation of I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman was without doubt an excellent read. Both the writing style and character development really stood out for me. The author sure has a way of creating unique and diverse characters! My heart went out for them and the ending left me craving for more. The multiple POV chapters are by no means distracting and only add more to the story for me. If you are a fan of the genre, this one should definitely be on your wishlist.


signature

You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramFacebookBloglovin’.