Time for another round of Yvo’s Shorties! This time a double dose of sequels, one a contemporary romance and one a YA fantasy title.


Title: The Enemy
(It Happened It Charleston #2)
Author: Sarah Adams

Genre: Contemporary, Romance
First published: August 29th 2020
Finished reading: February 20th 2021
Pages: 258

“But at the end of the day, this version of me is just that. A version. It’s fake.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

I really enjoyed my time with her writing in The Match recently, so I decided to pick up the sequel quickly when I saw in the mood for the genre again. And I most definitely liked what I found! The Enemy can be read as a stand-alone quite easily, as the main characters of the first book are only making a short appearance and the focus of this sequel is on a different cast of characters instead. While I do have to say I enjoyed this one a tiny bit less (maybe it’s the lack of dogs?), I still had a great time reading this one. The Enemy is the typical enemy to lover story and although I did wish the enemy part would have lasted longer, I did enjoy their banter overall. If you are looking for something light and fun with a focus on food as well as friendship, a budding relationship and banter, The Enemy most definitely won’t disappoint.


Title: Venom
(Isles Of Storm And Sorrow #2)
Author: Bex Hogan

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Pirates
First published: April 9th 2020
Publisher: Orion Children’s Books
Finished reading: February 25th 2021
Pages: 400

“The magic in my blood calls for others’ blood to be spilled. Retribution. Maybe it’s time I listened.”


myrambles1reviewqqq

After loving the first book earlier recently, I couldn’t resist picking up the sequel while memories of this high fantasy world were still fresh. I had high expectations for Venom, so that’s why I was a bit surprised to end up having mixed feelings instead. Somehow I think I actually prefer the first book? It might have had to do with the lack of ship setting, it might have had to do with the fact that Marianne REALLY started to annoy me, it might have had to do with the fact that the whole love triangle vibe and Marianne sacrificing herself for the greater good got old fast… But somehow I didn’t enjoy Venom as much as I thought I would when I started it. Don’t get me wrong, I did love that we got to see more of the Western Isles in the sequel, learning more about magic and Marianne’s past in the process. The descriptions of the high fantasy world were well done, and really made them come alive… But I felt a bit distracted by the behavior of certain characters, and not in a good way. On top of this, Venom ends with a brutal cliffhanger; something that always irritates me highly and especially when the next book isn’t even published yet. I still want to know how everything will end, so thankfully the wait for the third and final book at least isn’t too long I guess.


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.