brsiegeandstorm

Title: Siege And Storm
(The Grisha Series #2)
Author: Leigh Bardugo
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance, Dystopia
First published: June 4th 2013
Finished reading: March 27th 2015
Pages: 435
Rating 4,5

“You know the problem with heroes and saints, Nikolai?” I asked as I closed the book’s cover and headed for the door. “They always end up dead.”

myrambles1review

I know that it took me way too long to finally read the sequel to Shadow And Bone, especially since I loved this first book in The Grisha series. The biggest problem was probably that I only owned a Spanish copy of Siege And Storm, and I normally prefer reading books in their original language… So as soon as I gave in and bought myself a copy of both the sequels, I was ready to dive into the Grisha world Leigh Bardugo so beautifully has created again. And this second book definitely didn’t disappoint me. Sure, Alina did have one too many suitors for my taste, but the romance scenes didn’t distract from the rest of the story. Alina as the female heroine seriously kicks ass, and you cannot help put crossing your fingers everything will work out in the end. Leigh Bardugo‘s prose is easy to read and the face pace makes it hard to put Siege And Storm down before you finish it. A sequel that is definitely recommended to YA Fantasy fans!

shortsummary1review

WARNING: Possible spoilers! Please don’t read this summary if you haven’t read Shadow And Bone yet. I’ll keep the summary short but it’s almost impossible to keep it completely spoiler-free…

After having escaped the Darkling, Alina and Mal have to start over again in a land unknown to them. The Darkling is trying to hunt them down, and Alina is still trying to figure out how to deal with all those lost lives on the Fold… And more importantly, how to keep her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. It turns out that neither of the two can escape there past for too long, and soon they are both in the Darklings hands again… Darkness never dies, and he has a terrifying new power. He was foolish though to trust a privateer to bring them all back to Ravka. The Stormhund switches sides and soon helps them turn back to the royal palace in Ravka… Revealing who he really is on the way. Will they be able to fight and destroy the Darkling and his power  together without destroying Alina herself?

finalthoughtsreview

Although I’m pretty sure I enjoyed the first book even more, Siege And Storm is without doubt a worthy sequel. The world building in The Grisha series is pretty impressive, and I love the prose Leigh Bardugo uses to tell her story. The characters in general are definitely likeable as well, and with the fast pace and easy-to-read prose this sequel is definitely a pageturner. Without doubt recommended!