brfirebolt

Title: Firebolt
(The Dragonian #1)
Author: Adrienne Woods
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
First published: November 17th 2013
Finished reading: October 10th 2015
Pages: 394
Rating 4,5qqq

“If your mind and heart are in the same place, you can do whatever you want.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

Laura at LaLa’s Blog contacted me last month with the question if I wanted to receive an e-copy of Firebolt in exchange for an honest review (with the permission of the author Adrienne Woods). As soon as I saw the blurb and read it was about dragons, I was sold. Fantasy stories with dragons are among my favorites and Firebolt turned out to be even better than I was originally hoping for. I loved the idea of dragons being some kind of ‘shapeshifters’ and both dragons and humans attending the same magic school. The worldbuilding is excellently done and with a fast pace and easy-to-read prose this first book in The Dragonian series is without doubt a quick and entertaining read. I do have to comment that some aspects of the story are a bit predictable and the novel ended with a big cliffhanger, but those were only minor setbacks in an otherwise solid story. I will definitely continue this series as I’m really curious what is going to happen with the main characters and their world. Recommended if you enjoy YA fantasy novels!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Elena Watkins doesn’t really believe in fairy tales, but her whole world is about to change as her father tells her they have to leave their home yet again. She thinks her dad is only paranoid, but it turns out he had an excellent reason to be on the run… And that night she sees her own father turn into a dragon to fight off more of these mythical creatures. Her father was killed and Elena now finds herself in a whole new world she doesn’t really understand; she has a hard time taking it all in. Dragons and magic actually exist, those dragons can take a human form and she will have to attend a new magical school as well… And to make things worse, an evil sorcerer might be trying to make his comeback. How will she deal with all this?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I had some minor problems with Firebolt that prevented me from giving it the full five stars, but it is easy to say that I more than enjoyed this read. I love dragons in general and I really enjoyed picturing Adrienne Woods‘ version of them. The shapeshifter element is a nice twist and I liked the fact that the humans can learn to bond and ride with them. Some parts of the plot were quite predictable (I won’t go into details to avoid spoilers), but the plot and worldbuilding were interesting enough for me to forget about it. If you like YA fantasy novels and enjoy dragon stories as much as I do, make sure to check out this series!