brone

Title: One
Author: Sarah Crossan
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Poetry
First published: August 27th 2015
Finished reading: March 4th 2016
Pages: 400
Rating 4qqq

“‘No one is whole,’ I told him.
‘Everybody is missing pieces.'”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I was browsing my TBR pile for a book featuring strong familial relationships the other day and this novel by Sarah Crossan sounded like the perfect match. What I didn’t know or expect was that the whole story is written in verse! I don’t read or know a lot about poetry, but that doesn’t take away that I can really appreciate it when it’s done in the right way. The free verse used in One made me fly through the pages and really connect to the main characters. The plot itself is interesting and tells us the story of two girls, Grace and Tippi, who were born joined at the waist. Through the voice of Grace, Sarah Crossan is able to address a lot of prejudices about conjoined twins. It is interesting to see how other people react to Grace and Tippi and how both twins are fighting to have their own identity. If you are looking for a good contemporary realistic fiction read and don’t mind reading it in free verse, One is without doubt a very good choice.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Grace and Tippi are conjoined twins who are joined at the waist. When they were little, they were told they wouldn’t be able to live for long, but the two sisters are now sixteen and still going strong. They share everything, but both girls have different dreams and wishes as well. When you’re a conjoined twin, you don’t exactly have privacy, but still Grace and Tippi would never want to be apart either. Unfortunately, something seems to be wrong with Grace even though she doesn’t want to admit it… She doesn’t tell even Tippi, but how long can she hide the truth? There might be a choice waiting for them in the future neither of them wants to make…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

This novel by Sarah Crossan surprised me, but in a really good way. I was expecting just another contemporary/realistic fiction read, but when I opened One to the first page I was confronted by free verse. I don’t read a lot of poetry, but I enjoy reading it in general especially when it’s well written like in this case. The prose made me fly through the pages and both the characters and the plot are really interesting. If you are looking for an interesting and original read, make sure to consider One!