Title: A Caller’s Game
Author: J.D. Barker
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Crime
First published: February 22nd 2021
Publisher: Hampton Creek Press
Finished reading: February 9th 2021
Pages: 424

“Social media is the new judge, jury, and executioner. The 21st-century hangman.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Hampton Creek Press in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’m a huge fan of J.D. Barker’s writing and I confess that I added A Caller’s Game to my list of most anticipated 2021 releases even before I read the blurb… Which consequently only made me even more excited to read this story. I’ve found his books to be both action-packed and highly entertaining so far, and his newest title A Caller’s Game is no exception. The comparison to the Die Hard movies is most definitely on point! This book had me on the edge of my seat from the very beginning until that explosive ending… And I loved every single minute along the way. It’s another fantastic story that has once again proven why J.D. Barker is one of my favorite thriller writers.

The story is told from two different POVs, alternating between radio host Jordan Briggs and NYPD Officer Cole Hundley. Both characters are well developed and intriguing characters that complement each other well, and they are perfect to show different angles of what is happening as the plot evolves. True, Jordan might not be 100% likeable, but you can’t deny that her snarky, stubborn and fiery personality livens up the plot considerably. It was also interesting to see her react to the escalating situation and her interaction with Bernie is key to the plot. Cole is a tad less developed, although we do have the mystery around his ‘demotion’ to traffic and what he did to Gracie to deserve it. His main role is in the present though while he acts like John McClane trying to save the day. I even started to picture him as Bruce Willis in my head once things started heating up… Did I say yet that A Caller’s Game would make for the perfect Hollywood action movie?!

As for the plot… I’m keeping this review short as A Caller’s Game is one of those stories where it’s best to go in blind, but what I can say is that I loved the radio host angle as well as the game and its development. The plot is filled to the brim with action, suspense and plenty of danger, and you most definitely get that Hollywood action movie vibe I mentioned before. Sure, things can be said about the credibility of certain escalations/plot developments, but trust me, you will be too busy devouring the pages to actively wonder about that. This is action thriller at its best; explosive, highly entertaining, addictive and simply exhilarating. A Caller’s Game is a story where the entertainment value matters most, and trust me, this book won’t let you down on that point. So many twists, turns and danger along the way!

A Caller’s Game was one of my most anticipated releases this year and now I’ve had the chance to read it I can most definitely confirm it lived up to expectations and more. If you enjoy a lightning fast and exhilarating action thriller packed with explosive twists, danger and suspense, A Caller’s Game is a must-read!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.