Title: Her Deadly Touch
(Detective Josie Quinn #12)
Author: Lisa Regan
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Detective
First published: August 12th 2021
Publisher: Bookouture
Finished reading: July 15th 2021
Pages: 281

“I cry because it lets some of the tension out. It helps me let go of some of the sadness and sorrow. It reminds me I’m still human.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Bookouture in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

It feels like I keep repeating myself when it comes to this series, but there is no doubt that Detective Josie Quinn is one of my favorite detective thrillers series and one that never seems to let me down. I always feel a little giddy inside whenever a new Josie Quinn becomes available, and I have been even more desperate to get my hands on the newest sequel after what happened in the previous book. I’m going to keep this review short to avoid spoilers, but those who have read Hush Little Girl will know what I’m talking about. Her Deadly Touch is already book number twelve of a series that doesn’t show any signs of slowing down. It’s another winner to add to the list!

While Her Deadly Touch has a slightly different feel than some of the previous books because of the very present focus on grief, it is of the same high quality and Josie Quinn and the rest of the team have another intriguing case on their hands. Grief and dealing with the death of a loved one play a big role throughout the story though, both in the investigation and on a personal level. It was interesting to see the new developments and the emotions felt genuine. But like I said, it’s not just about grief, as the team has more than one murder to solve that seems to be evolving around a tragic school bus accident two years ago. Every single character involved seems to be hiding something and there will be plenty of secrets, twists and turns to keep you busy while you try to guess who could be behind it all.

I liked the development of the plot and how Josie’s personal developments were woven into the story in a natural way. The writing was just as engaging as always and kept me turning those pages chapter after chapter. I basically read most of the story in one sitting! No surprise here though, as the Detective Josie Quinn books seem to be known for grabbing you in its claws and not letting go until you reach that final page. Her Deadly Touch was highly addicting, entertaining, twisted as well as heartfelt, and without doubt a worthy addition to the series!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.