Title: Fatal Witness
(DCI Erika Foster #7)

Author: Robert Bryndza
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Detective
First published: July 7th 2022
Publisher: Raven Street Publishing
Finished reading: June 5th 2022
Pages: 372

“People are weird, boss. Don’t forget that. And being weird doesn’t necessarily mean criminal.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Raven Street Publishing in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

It’s no secret that I’m a big fan of the DCI Erika Foster series, so I was beyond excited when I first discovered there was going to be a new sequel after four long years. There is just something about this detective thriller series that makes me feel a little giddy inside every time a new book appears on my kindle, and I’ve never been able to resist a copy for long once it does… And I have to say that even after such a long time, memories of the different characters and previous events popped right up again once I started reading the first pages. I guess that’s what happens when it’s one of your favorite series!

Fatal Witness can quite easily be read as a stand-alone, because the case itself is a completely new one without ties to the past. I do recommend reading the previous books not only to have more background on the development of Erika Foster and her team, but also because the books are well worth your time in the first place. This time around we have the mysterious death of a true-crime podcaster as well as the sexual predator case she was investigating for her most recent podcast… Plot twists and secrets start appearing early on, and between the pace and writing you will find yourself flying through those pages in record time.

I had such a great time meeting up with Erika Foster and the rest of her team again, and you will also find some personal developments in Fatal Witness along the way. I think the cast of characters is part of the charm of this series in general, and Erika Foster makes for an excellent lead character. The plot and plot twists will keep you plenty busy, and this story will also most definitely finish with a bang. While I had my suspicions, I sure never saw those final events coming! The ending also made me even more curious about what the next book will have in store for Erika and her team… I already can’t wait to read it, and Fatal Witness hasn’t even been published yet!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.