Title: I Remember You
Author: Brian Freeman
Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Science Fiction
First published: August 9th 2022
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Finished reading: July 15th 2022
Pages: 384

“People don’t typically suppress good memories. You know that better than anyone. They suppress memories that their brains don’t think they can handle. It can be cathartic to release them, or it can be deeply traumatic.”

*** A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by Netgalley and Thomas & Mercer in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! ***

myrambles1reviewqqq

I admit that I was intrigued as soon as I first read the blurb of I Remember You. Between the main character dying and then waking up with the memories of someone else and the murder she then remembers, I knew I simply HAD to read this story to see where it would lead. I’m glad I did make the decision, because I think I have found a new author to follow. I Remember You ended up being a highly engaging thriller with an almost sci-fi vibe, and I loved every single minute of it.

I think part of the reason this story worked so well for me was the fact that the writing style and tone were an instant hit, and this made it very easy to keep turning those pages. Add a suspenseful and fast-paced plot with lots of intrigue and danger, and I was hooked almost as soon as I started reading… The story has that sci-fi feel to it with Hallie suddenly having someone else’s memories inside her and the science in general, although the main focus does remain a thriller with everything that is going on. The science aspect of this story does make the plot feel more unique, and it definitely took this book to the next level for me.

There are a lot of different elements incorporated into the plot, with a focus on heavier topics including abuse, rape, mental illness, eating disorder, addiction and suicide. The fact that you are not completely sure if the main character really has someone else’s memories or if she is actually imagining it instead (mental illness runs in her family after all) only adds to the intrigue of this story; the other elements give the characters more dept and they explain certain behavior and events. I could have done without the cheating element, although it only played a minor role and I was too busy enjoying the story to be truly bothered by it.

I think I Remember You is one of those stories where it’s best to go in blind and simply brace yourself for a thrilling ride. There are lots of dangerous situations, twists and secrets to keep you entertained along the way, and I never did guess those final reveals… All in all I Remember You turned out to be an engaging and gripping sci-fi thriller that has both dept and lots of danger and movement to keep that pace fast. I can’t wait to try more of his books!


You can also find me at Goodreads. Twitter. InstagramBloglovin’.