brcarryon

Title: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance
First published: October 6th 2015
Finished reading: November 6th 2015
Pages: 522
Rating 5qqq

“What you are is a fucking tragedy, Simon Snow. You literally couldn’t be a bigger mess.”
He tries to kiss me, but I pull back- “And you like that?”
“I love it.” He says
“Why?”
“Because we match.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I have been looking forward to Carry On ever since finishing Fangirl back in April, so when I finally got my copy I just had to read it straight away. And now I’ve finished it, I can say this novel by Rainbow Rowell is everything I’ve hoped for and more. I already know it will appear on my 2015 favorites list and it’s my new Rowell favorite as well. When I was reading Carry On I was having the same feelings as the first time I read the Harry Potter series when I was younger, and I can guarantee that is a huge compliment! Somehow this story is just magical and I fell in love with its main characters… The prose, the plot, the characters: it just works perfectly together. I know this sounds a lot like fangirling and I admit it’s really hard to properly describe my feelings for this novel, but I guess it’s just THAT good. If you like the genre and enjoy the way Rainbow Rowell writes, I’m sure you will love this one as well. Baz and Simon will win over your heart!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Simon Snow is the chosen one, but he doesn’t exactly feel or act like one. He has a hard time keeping his magic under control and using his wand in general, something his roommate Baz keeps reminding him. Baz might actually be evil, possibly even a vampire and is probably both his worst enemy and might be alright at the same time… Needless to say things have become pretty tense between them over the years, until Baz doesn’t show up on the first day of their last year at the Watford School Of Magicks. Simon wonders what he’s planning next and on top of that he has his hands full with a magic-eating monster that wears Simon’s face. Not forgetting his girlfriend broke up with him and his mentor is avoiding him… In short: he is a complete mess. Will Simon be able to make things right like he is supposed to?

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I know not everyone will enjoy Carry On, but I cannot say enough how brilliant this story is. I fell in love with the characters (especially Baz and Simon), the prose is great and I really enjoyed the plot as well. Rainbow Rowell was able to make me feel all warm and fuzzy inside and I already know I will reread Carry On many times in the future. It’s one of those books that if it manages to put you under its spell you just cannot get enough of it. More than recommended if you like the genre!