brdeaduntildark

Title: Dead Until Dark
(Sookie Stackhouse #1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Genre: Fantasy, Horror, Romance
First published: May 1st 2001
Finished reading: March 24th 2016
Pages: 326
Rating 3,5qqq

“The world seemed a bad and terrible place, all its denizens suspect, and I the lamb wandering through the valley of death with a bell around my neck.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

After a few disappointing reads, I was looking for something to bring me back on track. I decided to play it safe and pick up one of the titles on my guilty pleasure list: Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. Although I normally don’t really care for vampire stories, this series has turned out to be an exception. I loved the True Blood TV series and this first book is definitely just as entertaining! I normally don’t like watching the movie or series before reading the book, because I want to create my own version of the characters as described in the story. In the case of the Sookie Stackhouse series, I’m finding that the actors chosen for the different characters fit their roles perfectly, so I don’t really mind. Sookie, Bill, Sam, Jason, Eric… While I was reading this book I actually had a lot of True Blood flashbacks. Dead Until Dark is fast-paced, entertaining and just what I needed to fight my beginning reading slump. It might not be the perfect read and the sexy romance scenes aren’t really my thing, but as it normally goes with guilty pleasure reads, I don’t really care. On to the second book it is!

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Sookie Stackhouse works as a waitress in  Bon Temps, Lousiana. Nothing really exciting seems to be going on in the small town, up until the day a vampire shows up at the bar. Suddenly Sookie isn’t the only person that doesn’t fit in… Sookie isn’t quiet and keeps to herself because she is shy or doesn’t feel pretty; somehow she can read the minds of everyone around her. And being able to read someones darkest and dirtiest thoughts doesn’t really help starting many friendships or dating guys… But somehow, Bill seems different. Not only is he a vampire, but Sookie can’t hear a word he’s thinking. And even though she knows she isn’t supposed to date a vampire, the thought of being able to be close to him without hearing disturbing thoughts sounds too good to be true. But Bill might be more dangerous than Sookie thinks…

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

I think I already read another book of the Sookie Stackhouse series a few years ago (way before starting this blog), but I don’t remember which one. I’m glad I finally decided to pick up this first book though, because it made me remember how much I loved the TV series. Dead Until Dark belongs to a genre I normally don’t enjoy much, especially when it comes to sexy romance and vampires. Still, somehow this book is an exception. I like the characters, the pace is fast and the overall story is entertaining. I will be looking forward to read more of this series soon!