brthemurdercomplex

Title: The Murder Complex
(The Murder Complex #1)
Author: Lindsay Cummings
Genre: YA, Dystopia, Thriller
First published: June 10th 2014
Finished reading: October 21st 2015
Pages: 398
Rating 4,5qqq

“I remember the one thing I have always known all along. I am not my mother’s daughter. I do not run from fear, but dive into it headfirst, the way my father taught me.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I’ve had The Murder Complex on my TBR pile for a while now and mostly kept putting it off because of mixed reviews. I’m glad I finally picked it up as part of my Halloween reads, because I end up more than enjoying this story. It’s an interesting read full of action that will keep you on the edge of your seat for the duration of the story. It does end with a pretty big cliffhanger and I’m glad I already have a copy of the sequel or else I would definitely be suffering. I especially enjoyed the worldbuilding behind The Murder Complex and Lindsay Cumming‘s prose reads really easily. The dual POV’s are well done and follow two very interesting main characters: Meadow and Zephyr. Switching back and forth between these two teenagers really makes the story dynamic and I was able to read this fast-paced novel in no time at all. I can see why this one wouldn’t be for everyone and some scenes might be disturbing for the more sensitive, but if you like a good YA dystopian action thriller, The Murder Complex would probably be a great choice.

shortsummary1reviewqqq

Meadow is fifteen and has been trained by her father to fight and survive any situation ever since she was little. Murder is as common as daylight in the world they live in and sometimes you have to kill in order to stay alive… The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that keeps track of the population and controls the rations with precision. They also decide over life and death, but nobody really knows about it… Programmed assassins start their hunt every night to eliminate those inhabitants who have been chosen randomly. When Meadow meets Zephyr, both their lives will change forever.

finalthoughtsreviewqqq

The Murder Complex is an action packed dystopian thriller with a very interesting worldbuilding. The prose reads really easily and the pace is fast, making this into a very entertaining read as long as you don’t mind some slightly disturbing scenes. The main plot is all about trained assassin teenagers killing of people randomly at night after all… This novel by Lindsay Cummings might not be for everyone, but I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would say it’s a perfect Halloween read. I will be reading the prequel and sequel ASAP myself!